Conference Time

Well it’s been a busy two weeks….Two weeks ago I attended a plenary of National Trust archaeologists in Birmingham. The plenary lasted two days and gave me the opportunity to meet my colleagues from other regions of the country and discuss their work and various projects. It was also a great opportunity to chat with the other archaeologists in a more casual environment over Chinese and Beer!

Not long after getting back from Birmingham I was off there again for another two days as just last week I attended the IFA conference. This was my first time I had the opportunity to attend the IFA conference and I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I thoroughly enjoyed it! To anyone out there that is cautious of going as they think they might not know anyone… Don’t be!! It’s a great opportunity to catch up with old uni friends you haven’t seen in years, put names to faces of people you might have heard of before, read their work or even email, and finally do some networking and make some new contacts. I dont think I had a single minute to myself with the number of new friends I made to chat to and being continuously introduced to others. I also had the chance to scope out some of the previous and current CBA placement holders and chat to them about how they were finding their work and get some tips.

I spent much of the first day of the conference checking out the exhibits and networking. At the forensic archaeology AGM I was elected on to the Forensic Archaeology SIG committee which to me is a big achievement and will help me advance my career in that branch of archaeology. In the evening I attended the drinks social and went to dinner with a number of HLF/IFA bursary holders. Thursday was going to be a busy day so I was well behaved and went to bed the right side of midnight.

Thursday morning I went to the presentations of some of the previous CBA placement holders. This was very inspirational and gave me an insight into the great things that I can achieve on this placement if I knuckle down and work hard. In the afternoon I went to a workshop on how to demonstrate impact in archaeological projects.

Alas, my time at the IFA conference had come to an end. Unfortunately I couldn’t attend Fridays session due to other work commitments.

As well as attending conferences pver the past two weeks I have been getting stuck in to work back in South Wales and making preparations for some exciting projects to come….. Watch this space……

3 responses to “Conference Time

  1. Sarah

    Hi Charlie, I’m Sarah, the CBA placement over at DAT Llandeilo. Didnt get to the conference last week but just wanted to say ‘Hi’ If you get a chance pop in and see us for a chat.

  2. This gives me the opportunity to say “Conference frieeeeeeeend” and feel only slightly ashamed that I’m (mis)quoting The Inbetweeners. Hummm. Anyway, was nice to meet you at B-ham and hopefully I’ll see you around Llandeilo sometime and I’ll let you know if ever I’m in Llandeilo!! Hope your placement is still going good!

    Holly 🙂

Leave a Reply

My Posts

April 2013
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 292 other followers

