Prehistoric Survival Skills 101: Flint Knapping

 

 

Last week I tried my hand at some prehistoric survival skills and had a go at some flint knapping.

 

To be honest I never had much of an appreciation for prehistoric stone tools and always preferred my archaeology to be a bit more contemporary. But I had a really good day and never realised before just how much skill and precision was needed to make these tools.

 

After a brief introduction to flint knapping I actually got the opportunity to have a go at making my own scraper… You can check out my final product below, a museum worthy artefact I think!!

ImageImage

                     Before                                                    After

 

Leave a Reply

My Posts

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 292 other followers

